Without claiming more than $ 200 million that was won in the lottery

Luck knocked on someone’s door in Jacksonville, Florida, to hit the Powerball and win $ 286 million. However, the winner has yet to claim his large prize.

This was reported by News4Jax, who noted that the winner of the jackpot, the 16th in Florida history, remains a mystery.

Under Florida Powerball rules, winners have up to 180 days from the day of the drawing to claim their prize. However, to choose the one-time payment of the full prize in cash, the claim must be made in 6o days.

The net prize is just under $ 197 million before taxes.

Although it is not yet known who won the money, it did emerge that the ticket was purchased at a “Circle K” on the west side of Jacksonville.

The winning numbers were 44, 52, 54, 64, 69 and the Powerball was 26.

We recommend you:


The New York Times wins Pulitzer Prize for Public Service – El Sol de México

Columbia University announced this Friday the winners of the 2021 Pulitzer Prizes, through which journalistic talents are recognized, divided into 21 categories, highlighting the pandemic and movements for racial violence.

The New York Times was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for its coverage of the Covid-19 pandemic “that exposed racial and economic inequalities in the United States and beyond.”

For the jury of the awards, the newspaper, which closely followed the evolution of deaths and infections with a data system that was constantly updated, “filled an information gap and helped local governments, health providers, businesses and individuals to be better prepared. “

The Pulitzer Prize for Public Service is considered the highest awarded by Columbia University to the journalistic work of the American media.

The finalists in this category, the last of the press awards to be announced, were the local newspaper The Courier-Journal and the non-profit organization ProP República.

The New York Times also won a second award at the critical category with the work of Wesley Morris.

This year a Special Pulitzer Prize for Darnella Frazier, aged 17, who recorded the arrest and murder of George Floyd, an African-American who died of suffocation at the hands of a Minneapolis, United States police officer, and who sparked protests around the world against racist violence.

Likewise, the Pulitzer Prize for the breaking news, another of the most outstanding awards, went to the local newspaper Star Tribune, for coverage of George Floyd’s death.

The award honors workers in the Star Tribune (…) for his “urgent coverage, authorized and nuanced from the death of George Floyd at the hands of the police in Minneapolis, and the aftermath that followed. “

In the category of national reports, The Marshall Project, AL.com, IndyStar and the Invisible Institute they won for a joint investigation into police dogs being used as weapons, often against innocent citizens, reports that led to government reforms.

In the local reports, was awarded the Tampa Bay, for exposing a police initiative that intimidated residents of Pasco County, Florida, and considered some students as “next criminals.”

BuzzFeed News won a Pulitzer for the first time, standing out in the category of international reports, thanks to his research on the scale of the internment of Uighurs in China.

The Pulitzer Prizes were awarded for the first time in 1917 and each year Columbia University is in charge of delivering these recognitions to the best of journalism.

Due to the pandemic, the event was delayed for two months; However, on June 11, they were carried out via live broadcast, directed by the co-chairs of the Pulitzer board of directors, Mindy Marqués González and Stephen Engelberg.

▶ ️ Stay informed on our Google News channel

Board leaders noted that reporters encountered unusual challenges last year while working remotely, due to the coronavirus pandemic, and at times faced danger, often from police officers, while covering street protests.

“The nation’s news organizations faced the complexity of simultaneously covering a global pandemic that showed racial differences and a bitterly contested presidential election, the magnitude of these stories, and the pace at which they unfolded, pushed many into the business of news. information to the limit of its resistance “, assured during a telematic ceremony.

Here is the complete list of winners:

  • Breaking news reports: Team of Star Tribune.
  • Investigative reports: Matt Rocheleau, Vernal Coleman, Laura Crimaldi, Evan Allen y Brendan McCarthy de The Boston Globe.
  • Explanatory reports: Ed Yong de The Atlantic; Andrew Chung, Lawrence Hurley, Andrea Januta, Jaimi Dowdell y Jackie Botts de Reuters.
  • Local reports: Kathleen McGrory y Neil Bedi de Tampa Bay Times.
  • National reports: Team of The Marshall Project, AL.com, Birmingham; IndyStar, Indianápolis; y el Invisible Institute, Chicago.
  • International reports: Megha Rajagopalan, Alison Killing and Christo Buschek Buzzfeed News.
  • Feature writing: Nadja Drost, Freelance Contributor The California Sunday Magazine; Mitchell S. Jackson, Independent Contributor to Runner’s World.
  • Commentary: Michael Paul Williams de Richmond Times-Dispatch.
  • Review: Wesley Morris de The New York Times.
  • Editorial writing: Robert Greene de Los Angeles Times.
  • Editorial cartoon: N / A.
  • Breaking news photography: Associated Press.
  • Featured Photography: Emilio Morenatti de Associated Press.
  • Audio reports: Lisa Hagen, Chris Haxel, Graham Smith and Robert Little de National Public Radio.
  • Public service: The New York Times.
  • Drama: The Hot Wing King de Katori Hall.
  • Story: Franquicia: The Golden Arches in Black America de Marcia Chatelain
  • Biography: The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X por Les Payne y Tamara Payne (Liveright / Norton)
  • Fiction: The Night Watchman de Louise Erdrich (Harper)
  • Poetry: Postcolonial Love Poem by Natalie Diaz (Graywolf Press)
  • General non-fiction: The Wilmington Lie: The Killing Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy by David Zucchino (Atlantic Monthly Press).
  • Song: Stride by Tania León (Peermusic Classical).

|| With information from EFE and AFP ||