Pol Espargaró sauer (Honda): «Das sind Fake News!» / MotoGP

Following Suzuki’s retirement from the MotoGP World Championship, Joan Mir is brought into play at Repsol Honda for 2023. Honda factory driver Pol Espargaró disagreed with the reporting on Thursday.

Pol Espargaró has been riding alongside superstar Marc Márquez for the Repsol Honda Team since last year. The former Yamaha and KTM rider has a valid contract until the end of the season and until there is nothing official about his future or his current seat, he believes discussions of this kind are pointless. Before the race at Le Mans, he prefers to concentrate on his job on the racetrack.

Suzuki announced its exit from the MotoGP class, putting a number of rider positions at risk. The seat of Pol Espargaró was also mentioned very often, as Joan Mir is a prime candidate at Repsol Honda. “We live in a world where we are increasingly accompanied by ‘fake news’,” he blurted out. “It started with an Italian journalist who asked me something after the last race. All I can say is it’s not true, it’s not true. We see it all over the world, you can’t get these false reports under control.”

“In the end I can say that as long as nothing is official, I do not comment on rumours. I’ll be in this team until the final in Valencia, when we have official news we’ll talk about it again,” stressed an angry Pol Espargaró. “Right now I’m fine with Honda and they are fine with me. We will work hard this weekend and hope for a good race. I’m the second best Honda rider, just behind Marc and I got the only podium for the team in 2022.”

Is he still worried about his place in the Repsol Honda Team? “No more than in the past,” said the 30-year-old Spaniard. “It is what it is, everyone wants to have their future in the bag as soon as possible. My manager speaks to the parties, including Honda. I’m a MotoGP racer and I want to stay here. If I can’t stay, I’ll drive somewhere else, or I’ll become a team manager. I’ve had an incredible athletic career, no matter what, it’s been a great time. Still, I would like to stay in the MotoGP class as a rider.”

“I’ve been in a similar situation many times. As a private driver, I had to renew my contract every year, it was always the same situation and I survived it,” the hothead clarified at the end of the press round in France.

Results MotoGP Jerez (May 1st):

1. Pecco Bagnaia (I), Ducati, 25 Runden in 41: 00.554 min
2. Fabio Quartararo (F), Yamaha, +0.285 sec
3. Aleix Espargaró (E), Aprilia, +10,977
4. Marc Marquez (L), Honda, +12,676
5. Jack Miller (AUS), Ducati, +12,957
6. Joan Mir (E), Suzuki, +13,934
7. Takaaki Nakagami (J), Honda, +14,929
8. Enea Bastianini (I), Ducati, +18.436
9. Marco Bezzecchi (I), Ducati, +18,830
10. Brad Binder (ZA), KTM, +20.056
11. Pol Espargaro (E), Honda, +20,856
12. Miguel Oliveira (L), KTM, +23,131
13. Alex Marquez (L), Honda, +25,306
14. Maverick Vinales (E), Aprilia, +27.358
15. Franco Morbidelli (I), Yamaha, +27.519
16. Luca Marini (I), Ducati, +29,278
17. Andrea Dovizioso (I), Yamaha, +35.204
18. Fabio Di Giannantonio (I), Ducati, +35.361
19. Alex Rins (E), Suzuki, +38,922
20. Remy Gardner (AUS), KTM, +43.378
21. Lorenzo Savadori (I), Aprilia, +44.299
22. Jorge Martin (E), Ducati, +1:07.681min
– Stefan Bradl (D), Honda, 15 laps back
– Johann Zarco (F), Ducati, 16 laps behind
– Darryn Binder (ZA), Yamaha, 20 laps behind

Championship status after 6 of 21 Grand Prix:

1. Quartararo 89 Punkte. 2. Aleix Espargaro 82. 3. Bastianini 69. 4. Rins 69. 5. Bagnaia 56. 6. Mir 56. 7. Zarco 51. 8. Brad Binder 48. 9. Marc Marquez 44. 10. Oliveira 43. 11. Miller 42. 12. Pol Espargaró 35. 13. Martin 28. 14. Viñales 27. 15. Nakagami 21. 16. Morbidelli 18. 17. Alex Márquez 16. 18. Bezzecchi 15. 19. Marini 14. 20. Dovizioso 8. 21. Darryn Binder 6. 22. Gardner 3.

Constructors’ Championship:

1. Ducati 131 Punkte. 2. Yamaha 89. 3. Aprilia 83. 4. Suzuki 80. 5. KTM 76. 6. Honda 57.

Team World Cup:

1. Suzuki Ecstar 125 Punkte. 2. Aprilia Racing 109. 3. Monster Energy Yamaha 107. 4. Ducati Lenovo 98. 5. Red Bull KTM Factory 91. 6. Pramac Racing 79. 7. Repsol Honda 79. 8. Gresini Racing MotoGP 69. 9. LCR Honda 37. 10. Mooney VR46 Racing 29. 11. WithU Yamaha RNF 14. 12. Tech3 KTM Factory 3.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts