The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) allows state residents to request a driving record through several modalities, with the intention that they can monitor their performance and anticipate any possible sanction in the future. This record, also known as a “driving record” or “driving history” contains all the information necessary to determine the status of the privileges that have been granted by this state agency.
As a preventive action, the periodic review of the driving record allows people with privileges to take actions to prevent the accumulation of points in their history and even determine if you have been assigned tickets by mistake.
How can I apply for a driving record in the state of Florida?
The FLHSMV offers several ways to request a driving record, some much more convenient than others, depending on the case:
1. In cases of superficial review, drivers can access this valuable history online, through the driver’s license verification page provided by the FLHSMV. In order to use this portal, drivers only need to enter their valid Florida driver’s license number.
2. If the driver needs much more specific information, you can go to a local FLHSMV office to purchase a 3-year, 7-year, or full registration (since granted the privilege to drive in the state to the present). These types of procedures require the payment of a fee that may vary depending on the information offered by the document. Interested persons can also obtain records from private providers, but the resulting document does not have the official endorsement of the FLHSMV.
3. Drivers in the state of Florida can also request a driving record via postal mail for a fee (via checks or money orders) and using the Driver’s License Registration Request Form to send to:
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 52
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575
In cases of extreme need, residents can also request driving records from third parties, via mail, using the same form and paying the corresponding fee. Since personal information is protected in the state, the applicant will need to provide: full name, date of birth or approximate age, Social Security Number (SSN), and driver’s license number. At the same time, you must provide your postal address or the postal address of the office to which the information will be sent, in the case of legal procedures, for example.
According to the FLHSMV, processing of driving records in the state takes at least 10 business days.
What information does the Florida state driving record provide?
According to the FLHSMV, the records or driving records that are issued through their offices may contain the following information:
1. Applications for driver’s licenses/identification cards, approved exams and driver’s education of the person to whom said record belongs.
2. Record of traffic accidents or data on a certain traffic citation due to an accident.
3. All open or closed suspensions, revocations, cancellations, disqualifications that appear on the driver’s full record.
4. Correspondence approved by the FLHSMV.
Personal information is withheld to comply with the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). In that sense, these documents do not contain Social Security Number, license, name or address. However, it is possible that certain information may be visible, such as the date of birth. On the other hand, some government agencies may request permission to view hidden information.
You may also like:
– What are the penalties for using the phone while driving in Florida
– What are the Florida car insurance requirements to be able to circulate in the state
– Step by step, how to apply for a driver’s license in Miami as an immigrant