Florida Panthers win playoff series for first time since 1996

Carter Verhaeghe’s goal in overtime gave the Florida Panthers a decisive win over the Washington Capitals. This ended a dry spell of 26 years.

Everyone on the ice! The Florida Panthers celebrate the winning goal in overtime.
Getty Images

The domestic capitals led in this sixth duel with the Panthers 1:0 and 2:1 – and yet could not force the hoped-for seventh game. Florida once again lived up to its reputation as a comeback team (29 wins from behind in the regular season).

First, TJ Oshie sent the game into overtime in the US capital with his overtime goal in the 59th minute. And there it was top scorer Carter Verhaeghe, who put an end to the whole thing with the goal to make it 4:3 after just under three minutes.

The team with the best points in the regular season and thus winners of the Presidents’ Trophy ended a dry spell of 26 years. The Florida Panthers last survived a playoff series in 1996.

Against Tampa Bay or Toronto

Florida now faces either interstate rivals and defending champions Tampa Bay Lightning or the Toronto Maple Leafs. In this sizzling, exciting series it is currently 3:3, the decision will be made this Saturday.

In the series between the Dallas Stars and the Calgary Flames as well as the Pittsburgh Penguins and the New York Rangers it is also 3: 3 after the games on Saturday night and seven duels are necessary. The “Broadway Blueshirts” won 5-3 at the Penguins, the Stars beat the Flames 4-2 at home. The Austrian Michael Raffl scored his second goal in these play-offs.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts