Defending champion Finland with a hard-fought victory over Germany in the final

Finland – Germany 2-1

Germany are defeated by Finland with 1: 2 and have to let the defending champion move into the World Cup final. Last year’s finalist Canada, who beat the USA 4-2 in a brotherly duel, is waiting there.


As in Slovakia in 2019, defending champions Finland and Canada will also contest the World Cup final in Riga. In the semi-finals, the Finns beat Germany 2-1 and the Canadians beat the USA 4-2.

The Germans also held up more than well against Finland. In the first third the shot ratio was 9: 5 (total 28:17) in their favor, but they went into the first break with a 0: 2 deficit. They conceded both goals themselves. In the 0: 1 (14th) goalie Mathias Niederberger let a durable shot by Iiro Pakarinen pass, the 0: 2 by Hannes Björninen (19th) was preceded by a mistake by Lukas Reichel.

In the fourth final against Switzerland, the Germans fell 2-0 behind, but this time the mortgage was too heavy. Although they managed to hit the next goal again – Matthias Plachta scored in the 32nd minute in the power play – and once again put their stamp on the game in the last third. But despite some very good chances, Marcus Noebels, penalty hero against the Swiss, missed one in the 55th minute, but this time they were denied the 2-2. The Germans lost 2-1 to the Finns in the group stage. In the game for third place, they now have another opportunity to secure their first World Cup medal since 1953.

READ  Poldervaart angry with FC Groningen: 'Now I am suddenly the best assistant ever'

Canada continues strong streak

Canada is in the final for the fifth time in the last six World Championships. Match winner was Andrew Mangiapane, who had not been available to the team in the first three games, all of which were lost. The Calgary Flames striker was responsible for the 2-1 (25th) and 3-1 (41st). Mangiapane now has seven goals and four assists. Connor Brown did the preparatory work for both goals. The Ottawa Senators striker now totaled eleven assists and 13 scorer points, making him the new number 1 in this statistic.

Canada – USA 4: 2

The top nation Canada will play for the title at the Ice Hockey World Championship on Sunday. The 26-time world champion won the prestige duel with the USA 4: 2 (1: 1, 0: 1, 2: 1) and made it to the final.


Brandon Pirri had put the Canadians in the lead after 122 seconds, Colin Blackwell (18th) equalized for the Americans. 24 seconds before the end, Justin Danforth made it all clear with a shot into the empty housing after the USA reduced it to 2: 3 (44th) through Sasha Chmelevski.

The fact that the Canadians are in the final is nothing unusual in and of itself, but after their performance in the preliminary round it is a surprise. If there had been no winner after 60 minutes in the match between Germany and hosts Latvia (2: 1) on Tuesday evening and Kazakhstan had not lost the last game against Norway (1: 3), the “maple leaves” would already be at home. Now, after Russia in the quarter-finals (2: 1 nV), they also eliminated the Americans, who had previously won seven times in a row and defeated Canada (5: 1). So the USA’s wait for the first final at a World Cup since 1960 continues.

READ  James Rodríguez explodes in networks for not being summoned

Canada and Finland had already faced each other in the final in 1994, 2007, 2016 and at the last World Cup in 2019. The North Americans won the first three times, two years ago the Finns surprisingly won 3-1. If the Canadians prevail again this time, it would be the 27th World Cup title for them, which would enable them to catch up with record holder Russia. Finland wants to climb the World Cup throne for the fourth time.

The live ticker for reading

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.