Consistory of August 27 for the creation of 21 new cardinals

Pope Francis announced the creation of twenty-one new cardinals. Among them there are three heads of dicasteries of the Curia, of which one is Spanish. Two from Brazil, one from Colombia and one from Paraguay. Sixteen are electors. Five are Italian, including Bishop Cantoni of Como, the emeritus of Cagliari and theology professor Gianfranco Ghirlanda

Salvatore Cernuzio – Vatican News

Cardinals from various parts of the world. At the end of the prayer Queen Coeli, the Pope announced a new Consistory, which will take place on August 27, for the creation of twenty-one new cardinals. It will be the eighth of Francis’ pontificate. The Pontiff announced from the window of the Apostolic Palace facing St. Peter’s Square:

“On Monday and Tuesday, August 29 and 30, there will be a meeting of all the cardinals to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution Praedicate evangelium and on Saturday, August 27, I will celebrate a Consistory for the creation of the new cardinals”

Three heads of Dicastery

Among the new cardinals are three heads of Dicasteries of the Roman Curia. This is the Englishman Arthur Roche, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship; the Korean Lazarus You Heung-sik, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy; and the Spaniard Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, president of the Pontifical Commission for the Vatican City State and the Governorate.

new purples

Alongside them, Francis raised to the purple: Jean Marc Avelin, Archbishop of Marseilles; Peter Okpaleke, Bishop of Ekwulobia, Nigeria; Leonardo Steiner, Archbishop of Manhaus; Philip Neri Anthony Sebastian of the Rosary Ferrao, Archbishop of Goa and Damao, India; Robert W. McElroy, Bishop of San Diego; Virgil of Carmo da Silva; Archbishop of East Timor; the Bishop of Como, Oscar Cantoni; Anthomy Poola, Archbishop of Hyderabad, India; Paulo Cesar Costa, Archbishop of Brasilia; Richard Kuuia Baawobr, Archbishop of Wa, Ghana; William Goh Seng Chye, Archbishop of Singapore; Adalberto Martinez Flores, Archbishop of Asuncion, Paraguay; Giorgio Marengo, Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar, capital of Mongolia.

Over 80 years old

With them, five over eighty years of age will also receive the red biretta, who, therefore, cannot be elected in a possible Conclave. They are: Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal, Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena (Colombia); Lucas Van Looy, Bishop Emeritus of Ghent (Belgium); Arrigo Miglio, Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari; Father Gianfranco Ghirlanda, professor of theology and Monsignor Fortunato Frezza, canon of San Pedro. At the end of the reading of the list of new cardinals, the Holy Father said:

“Let us pray for the new cardinals so that, confirming their adherence to Christ, they help me in my ministry as Bishop of Rome for the good of all the holy people of God”

Composition of the College of Cardinals

The College of Cardinals today has 208 cardinals, of whom 117 are electors and 91 non-electors. As of August 27, there will be 229 cardinals, including 132 electors.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts