Athletics: Orlando Ortega heads the Spanish team for the Ibero-American

Ethe valet Orlando Ortega, Olympic runner-up in Rio 2016, leads the team of seventy Spanish athletes -33 women and 37 men- selected to participate, from May 20 to 22, in the Alicante 2022 Ibero-American Championship, to be held in La Nuca (track events) and Torrevieja (half marathon), announced this Tuesday the Spanish Federation.

This is the largest Spanish team since the 2010 San Fernando edition and the fourth with the most athletes in all history after Huelva 2004 (84), San Fernando 2010 (82) and Seville 1992 (74).

Among the 21 selected Spanish Olympians (11 women and 10 men), 18 were protagonists in Tokyo, including two fourth-placed like Eusebio Cceres in longitude and lvaro Martn in 20 km march.

Along with them will be in Alicante2022 nine medalists in the last European sub20 and sub23 in Tallinn 2021, 27 Spanish leaders of 2022 and the current absolute national record holders in the open air of 400 m hurdles (Sara Gallego), weight (Beln Toimil), hammer ( Laura Redondo) and women’s 4x100m (Maribel Prez and Paula Sevilla); and 110 m hurdles (Orlando Ortega), hammer (Javier Cienfuegos) and 4×400 m (Samuel García and scar Husillos).

In the last edition of the Iberoamericano, held in Trujillo (Per) in 2018, Spain won 18 medals (five gold, six silver and seven bronze). The Spanish record for medals came in Manaus 1990 with 42 medals (14 gold, 19 silver and nine bronze).

It will be the fifth time, in 19 editions, that the championship is held in Spain, this time as the first Spanish athletics test in a year of major events such as the Eugene World Cup (Oregon, USA), the Munich European Championship, the U20 in Cali and the European U18 in Jerusalem.

The Spanish athletes selected for the Ibero-American are the following:


  • 100: Maribel Pérez, Paula Sevilla
  • 200: Luca Carrillo
  • 800: Daniela Garca, Marina Martnez
  • 1,500: gueda Muoz, Solange Pereira
  • 5,000: Carla Domnguez, Luca Rodrguez
  • Half marathon: Marta Galimany, Laura Mndez
  • 100 m hurdles: Teresa Errandonea
  • 400 m hurdles: Sara Gallego, Carla Garca
  • 3,000m steeplechase: Carolina Robles, Irene Sánchez-Escribano
  • Height: Saleta Ferndez
  • Prtiga: Mnica Clemente, Malen Ruiz de Azua
  • Length: Ftima Diame, Leticia Gil
  • Triple Jump: Patricia Sarrapio
  • Weight: Beln Toimil
  • Hammer: Osarumen Odeh, Laura Redondo
  • Javelin: Arantza Moreno
  • 10,000m walk: Laura Garca-Caro
  • 4×100: Alba Borrero, Luca Carrillo, Carmen Marco, Maribel Pérez, Paula Sevilla
  • 4×400: Carmen Avils, Sara Gallego, Angela Garcia, Eva Santidrin, Berta Segura


  • 100: Alberto Calero, Sergio Lopez
  • 200: Jess Gmez
  • 400: Samuel Garca, Manuel Guijarro
  • 800: lvaro de Arriba, Pablo Snchez-Valladares
  • 1,500: Sergio Paniagua
  • 5,000: Ral Celada, Carlos Mayo
  • Half marathon: Jorge Blanco, Tariku Novales
  • 110m hurdles: Orlando Ortega, Daniel Cisneros
  • 400m hurdles: Iker Alfonso, Jess David Delgado
  • 3,000m steeplechase: Pol Oriach, Vctor Ruiz
  • Height: Xesc Tresens
  • Prtiga: lex Gracia, Didac Salas
  • Length: Eusebio Cceres, Jaime Guerra
  • Triple Jump: José Emilio Bellido, Marcos Ruiz
  • Weight: Carlos Tobalina
  • Disc: Lois Maikel Martnez
  • Hammer: Javier Cienfuegos
  • Javelin: Manu Quijera
  • Decathlon: Bruno Common
  • 10,000 m march: Ivn Lpez, lvaro Martn
  • 4×100: lberto Calero, Bernat Canet, Jess Gmez, Sergio Lpez, Daniel Rodrguez
  • 4×400: Iaki Caal, Samuel Garca, Manuel Guijarro, scar Husillos, Aleix Porras. EFE



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts