2021 Boston Marathon start time, route, qualifying times, list of past winners

The 125th Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, October 11, but with a few notable changes. On the one hand, this is the first time that the race has taken place in the fall.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the April race date has been postponed to October. The race was canceled last year due to the pandemic, but they held a virtual race instead. This year, there are only about 20,000 participants while there are generally more than 30,000.

Because this is the first in-person Boston Marathon since 2019, before the pandemic began, there are new rules participants must follow. There is a start launched for the first time in racing history so runners can distance themselves socially. The Athletes’ Village at Hopkinton, where runners can generally stay, will be closed. In addition, runners must be vaccinated or have proof of a negative test to participate in the race.

In last year’s virtual race, no one was named the official race winner. Therefore, the reigning champions are from the 2019 race. Lawrence Cherono of Kenya is the reigning male champion, while Worknesh Degefa of Ethiopia is the reigning female champion.

When is the 2021 Boston Marathon?

  • Date: Monday, October 11
  • Time: 8 h HE
  • TV: NBC Sports Network
  • Direct: fuboTV

This year’s Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, October 11. The first group to come out is the men’s wheelchair division, which kicks off at 8:02 am ET, and the women’s wheelchair race begins three minutes later.

From 8:30 am, the handbikes and duos group will take off. The male professional division begins at 8.37 a.m., followed by the female professionals at 8.45 a.m. The last race to take off will be the para-athlete division at 8:50 a.m. The rolling start will then begin at 9:00 a.m.

See also  Milei: "I am in favor of the free carrying of weapons" - News

NBC Sports Network’s coverage will begin at 7:30 a.m. ET and end at 12:00 p.m. There will be a broadcast of the race on the Olympic Channel at 8:00 p.m. ET. You can also live stream the Boston Marathon with fuboTV, which offers a 7-day free trial.

Boston Marathon start times

Event Time (ET)
Wheelchair for men 8h02
Wheelchair for women 8h05
Hand bikes and Duos 8h30
Professional men 8h37
Professional women 8h45
Para-athletics division 8:50 a.m.
The rolling begins 09h00

2021 Boston Marathon Course

The historic Boston Marathon course spans 26.2 miles through eight cities. The runners start from Hopkinton, a small town of less than 20,000 inhabitants.

From Hopkinton, participants run on mostly downhill “side” roads for the first half of the marathon. But, when they reach Mile 16, runners have to climb four hills – this is called “Heartbreak Hill”.

The runners meet in Boston on Bolyston Street to finish the race.

(Boston Athletic Association)

Boston Marathon weather forecast

During the last Boston Marathons, the participants were drenched by rain showers. This year’s race might have rain again, but it shouldn’t be as heavy as in previous years.

Otherwise, temperatures will be close to the 70s with only winds of 5-10 mph.

Boston Marathon qualifying times

Age Men Women
18-34 3:00:00 3:30:00
35-39 3:05:00 3:35:00
40-44 3:10:00 3:40:00
45–49 3:20:00 3:50:00
50-54 3:25:00 3:55:00
55-59 3:35:00 4:05:00
60–64 3:50:00 4:20:00
65-69 4:05:00 4:35:00
70-74 4:20:00 4:50:00
75-79 4:35:00 5:05:00
80 4:50:00 5:20:00

List of former Boston Marathon winners


Year Runner (Country) Time
2019 Lawrence Cherono (Kenya) 2:07:57
2018 Yuki Kawauchi (Japon) 2:15:58
2017 Geoffrey Kirui (Kenya) 2:09:37
2016 Lemi Berhanu (Ethiopia) 2:12:45
2015 Lelisa Desisa (Ethiopia) 2:09:17
2014 Meb Keflezighi (United States) 2:08:37
2013 Lelisa Desisa (Ethiopia) 2:10:22
2012 Wesley Korir (Kenya) 2:12:40
2011 Geoffrey Mutai (Kenya) 2:03:02
2010 Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (Kenya) 2:05:52
2009 Deriba Merga (Ethiopia) 2:08:42
See also  Chantal Silliman: married, with two children and candidate for Santiago for Miss Dominican Republic


Year Runner (Country) Time
2019 Worknesh Degefa (Ethiopia) 2:23:31
2018 Desiree Linden (United States) 2:39:54
2017 Edna Kiplagat (Kenya) 2:21:52
2016 Atsede Baysa (Ethiopia) 2:29:19
2015 Caroline Rotich (Kenya) 2:24:55
2014 Buzunesh Deba (Ethiopia) 2:19:59
2013 Rita Jeptoo (Kenya) 2:26:25
2012 Sharon Cherop (Kenya) 2:31:50
2011 Caroline Kilel (Kenya) 2:22:36
2010 Teyba Erkesso (Ethiopia) 2:26:11
2009 Salina Kosgei (Kenya) 2:32:16



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media

Most Popular

On Key

Related Posts